top of page

Why do women wear veils in church

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?2169275 <<<<<<






A veiled woman shows reverence for God, symbolizing the veiled bride of the Church, but also honors herself as a woman before God. Men represent Christ, the bridegroom, which is why we have the male priesthood.

Women represent the Church, the bride. All laymen take part in the feminine nature of the Church, but women symbolize the Church as the bride. Veiling goes against a society that tells us that men and women are the same, that there are many genders, and that gender is not important when people want to marry. Veiling is an outward statement against modernity and its lies. A woman choosing to be submissive as a wife, as woman, to her husband is against all that our society tells us about man and woman.

Paul talks about women submitting to their husbands, the Church submitting to Christ, Christ loving the Church to the point of his suffering and death, and husbands loving their wives in this same way.

Christianity has made men and women equal in God, and St. Paul says this right in the middle of the passage where he talks about women covering their heads. It is important to remember that when Jesus and St. Paul talk about women in the Scriptures it is in a new way that was not normal to their cultures. Women veiling is not putting them lower than men, but must be seen in conjunction with men not covering their heads. It emphasizes the difference of men and women, and the symbol they are as the image of God.

Thomas Aquinas explains in his commentary on veiling passage of 1 Corinthians that human beings in general naturally augment their natural beauty with clothing. Many believe , including some scholars and professors of seminaries that women in Biblical times lived with their faces covered by a veil like the Muslim women of today.

There is no such thing. As a nuptial custom , a woman used a veil to present herself before the man who she was going to marry , but that was only for that purpose , the rest of her activities and life , she walked around with her face uncovered.

Nowadays a bride also uses a veil during the marriage ceremony. Decent women did not have to cover their faces , the ones that covered their faces were the prostitutes , as we can see in the passage I present below , in which Judah upon seeing his daughter in law Thamar , thought she was a prostitute because she had a veil covering her face.

These were of course atheists. Buddhist men uncover their heads in their temples. On the other hand, Jewish men, at least the Orthodox and Reformed branches, cover their heads with a yarmulke in the synagogues, although some Jewish exegetes claim that this custom was introduced for laymen only in the 17th century and that on account of the Talmudic prohibition not to imitate the heathen customs.

For if a woman be not covered, let her be shorn. I am certain that any devout Catholic woman would affirm with the Church that the Bible is inspired by God. Therefore, what is written here by the hand of Saint Paul is divinely inspired.

And the Church has always maintained this discipline for women as well as that of keeping silence in church — 1 Cor. That is, up until the liturgical revolution post Vatican II. For the man is not of the woman, but the woman of the man. For the man was not created for the woman, but the woman for the man.

Therefore ought the woman to have a power over her head, because of the angels. I have seen women smirk — I am referring to practicing Catholic women — with the reading of these verses. The holy angels are present at Mass. They take note of the reverence and modesty of the worshipers. If someone objects that a priest or bishop has his head covered when he enters the church for the liturgy, be it noted that he removes his biretta or mitre for the holy ritual.

The biretta and mitre, let me add, are symbols of the priestly office. The mitre, in fact, goes back to the attire mandated for the priestly function in the Old Testament. In a certain sense, the woman participates in the liturgy in a more visible way than the layman because her veil is an outward sign, not, of course, as part of the rubrics, but certainly as her part in the ceremony which includes so many other visible signs performed by all the worshiping faithful.

Protestants, as we know, have no liturgy, no divine Presence. Even still, the principal heresiarchs of the Revolt, Luther, Calvin, Zwingli, Wesley, and Knox, all kept the biblical mandate for female head covering. This changed somewhat in the early twentieth century in the Anglophone West. Veils were deemed too Catholic. I have negative memories of always having my head covered. I do respect and think veiling can be beautiful.

I belong to two churches. The one that is 45 minutes away I am involved in youth ministry. These things already cause me to stand out, so I am just not ready to stick out even more. I DO admire those who do veil although no one does at either of my parishes. So can men wear hats to church? What is the difference, to veil or not to veil should be a choice?

What is modest in one culture is not in another. I wore as little girl looked like a doylie. I remember my grey aunts wearing all the time for Mass and a different one for Blessed Sacrament. Now I wear mine for Blessed Sacrament. I wear in reverence to Him. My God. I veil because Jesus asked me to from the Tabernacle plus after thinking what He asked me to do I thought about His Mother Mary always has wears a Mantle and dresses modestly.

I do veil at the latin Mass—out of love for Jesus and I am not worthy of His love and graces. I am a sinner at large, but humbly I like to come to Jesus veiled. I need His help a lot in life.. One time, I was making a thanksgiving after Mass, and the visiting priest was so bothered by my veil and thanksgiving, he spoke real loud to other parish people, to distract my prayers, not far from me.

It angered him. I attended a parish for many years, and was told, not asked, by the pastor to remove my veil and never wear it there again. Needless to say, we are looking for a new parish. I would stand my ground at the current one.

He has no right to ask you to remove yours, when he does not admonish men and women on abortion. My eldest Granddaughter, 22y now, started veiling a few years back. It was well received at an Novus Ordo church. Very interesting. I have never heard of a husband specifically asking his wife not to veil.

You should obey him, of course. He might come around in the future!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page