top of page

When was metropolitan stadium torn down

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?4177687 <<<<<<






I really enjoyed your site. I have collected over 7, Twins item over the years, but it would number another 7, times if I could list all of my memories of the Met. You really brought the 'ol Met back to life again.

Trivia fact: they had "artifical" turf at the Met the coaching boxes down both 1st and 3rd were artifical turf. Best of everything. Clyde Doepner. I grew up a Chicago Cubs Fan I attended one of the last baseball games there while attending college at the U of MN. The MET has been missed sorely! I've been going to twins games for as long as I can remember. My family has season tickets to see one of the greatest teams in baseball inside.

I've never seen an outdoor baseball game and I think that it would be great not to have to gon a trip to do so. I hope that the new stadium gets built before I graduate high school in Either way though I hope it gets built. This website is unbelievabe, the pictures are wonderful, and the information is extraordinary. Good job on the site. Go Twins! How about including a recording of the old "Twins Rouser" We're going to win Twins, We're going to score.

We're going to win Twins, Watch that baseball soar. Knock out a home-run shout a Hip-Hooray! Cheer for the Minnesota Twins today. Hey, Who wrote that song? Met Stadium was a huge part of my childhood. Everything you mention rings equally true for me as it did for you. Twilight at the Met was magical. Great, great fun! I also remember the nightmare of trying to get out of the parking lot after game. Most visits ended before the game was over because we had to "beat the traffic" or be stuck in the parking lot for what seemed to be hours.

I remember it seemed like a huge game of chicken as cars darted in and out of lines trying to find a line of cars that was actually moving. Thank you for this wonderful site. I grew up in the Twin Cities in the 60's and early 70's and have many fond memories of the Met.

Like sitting out in the left field bleachers, eating a frosty malt, and almost getting hit by a ball during batting practice. I also remember arriving at the Met, and seeing the colored panels, thinking how big it was. Or the smell of the fresh cut grass. Now, I'm passing on those traditions to my son, but only in Arizona. He loves the frosty malts! What a beautiful site. I have the mug they gave out with Harmon Killebrew's picture in anticipation of his th homerun he didn't hit it during that particular game.

I stored crayons in it. I saw the Twins come back with two outs in the ninth with three runs and witnessed people in the parking lot who had left early stepping on their portable radios in frustration. I remember those picture days and have pictures. Ohh, if they'd only been in focus I saw Bert Blyleven pitch to the Royals from right behind home plate - my dad got tickets from a lawyer friend - seeing the ball appear on the other side of the batter, then whip across for a strike.

Tied at 1 in the bottom of the ninth, Joe Lis hit a worm burner right over the mound and right over second base, and I remember seeing Bobby Darwin streak around, helmet flying off, and scoring the winning run right in front of me. Frosty-malt heaven that day. I saw Fran Tarkenton's last game at the Met I think it was against the Eagles in the snow and watched him draw plays in the dirt and complete all of these fourth-down passes to I believe Joe Senser to win the game, and I saw Ahmad Rashad's miracle catch against Cleveland I was right off of that corner of the endzone - all I could see was the ball come down, some kind of commotion, two white official's gloves going up signalling "touchdown" and the remaining crowd starting to cheer on the other side - we couldn't see what happened!

The Vikings ran around holding their helmets up to the crowd and pointing, and their heads were steaming in the cold, and everybody was hugging in parkas and the whole stadium rocked. I remember the Browns in their white jerseys standing there stunned. Joe Senser catching a toss over the middle, then with a linebacker pulling him down, pitching back to Ted Brown?

The Vikings scored touchdowns that day with left, left, and to win. The only game I ever bought a ticket to. I lived off of 86th also. When the Twins or Vikings did something good, you could run outside, count to five, and hear the crowd cheer.

No TV back then. Great memories. Thank you. I think there was another band too but I forget You could feel the music in the ground at my house Your site is a great substitute for a book, a book which I believe has never been written!

Oh, I know Joe Soucheray wrote a book once about the old Met, but this was an imperfect work, too brief for one thing. It was not a definitive history. It was also a bit preachy, constantly hitting us over the head about weather conditions on any particular day. Yes, we all know that the Met was an outdoor stadium, and we were about to move indoors at that time. I really think that a good, definitive book on the history of the Met would be a good project for someone.

Patrick Reusse? A lot of fans did this. No one shooed us away. You have to park your rear end in a fixed spot and just stay there. I once sent an e-mail to Reusse suggesting he write about this, but I never heard back. Great site! My father, Robert J. Webster, was Director of Community Development for Bloomington in the 's. He had great plans for wonderful arenas, restaurants, and shops for the area. Somewhere, I have the plans he drew up for his purposed new stadiums and shops. I remember how wonderful it would have been had he won his battle.

Sadly, my dad died in He never saw the dreaded dome, and I am thankful for that. The best Met Stadium sight I have seen. I went to about 10 Twins games with my Mom and Dad. If I had 1 million dollars I would pay it to see 1 more Twins game at the Met. I was at the home opener for Rod Carew day when he was with the Angels. A couple of summer's after the Met closed, a couple of us went into the Met.

The grass on the field was 6 feet high. It was one of the saddest day's of my life. I miss the Met. Mark Dressen Lakeville Mn. Best Met Stadium sight I have seen. If I had 1 million dollars I would pay it to see 1 more Twin's game at the Met. My Mom and Dad took me to about 10 Twin's games at the Met. I was at the home opener for Rod Carew day. About 2 summer's after the Met closed, a couple of us went into Met Stadium.

The grass on the field was 6 feet high and the stadium was trashed. Mark Dressen Lakeville, Mn. Thanks for a great site! It brings back many wonderful memories - Vikes, Twins. I'm 42 but I still recall group outings to the Twins games - With my grade school class, a group of Mankato Free Press paperboys. And of course, going to games with my family.

It was great to see the colored panels! I'd love to get some pix of the stadium football and baseball! Blessed be it's memory! Just wanted to give a great remark on an excellent website. Its hard to come across a lot of photo's of the old met and you have some great ones.

Job well done. Thanks so much for setting such a great website on the old Met. Although, I have never been to the old Met, I truly miss the old park. I saw the Met once in December of just before it was torn down. It was truly such a large place sitting dark, abandoned and decaying on a very cold December night. Everytime I go to a ballgame at the Metrodome, I truly miss and dream the fun times of tailgating, Killebrew's homeruns, cheap Frosty Malts and seeing outdoor baseball. Also many thanks for getting pictures of the abandoned Met.

It breaks my heart to see those picture on what was a sad and unpleasant end to such a great ballpark. And thanks so much for bringig memories back to the hearts of millions of Twins fans. I miss the knotwhole games. My dad would take me and my brother to them along with kids from Bloomington whose families may have never been able to afford going without the promotion. That was another era. Hopefully we have learned from our mistakes. The Dome should stay last of the 'great' domes but they should build the Gopher outdoor football stadium Very excellent site.

I was raised in Eagan and even though I could ride my bike to the stadium sure it took a while but it could be done , I only saw acouple of games at the met. But anytime my family went to Lk. Nakomis park, we would drive past it. The met is as much a part of my memory as if I had seen a thousand games there. For general information, you can find the tune to the "Win Twins" fight song if you go to MLB and go to "shop for ringtones".

Just select the Twins, and you'll find two versions. One is an electronic version that sounds like a real fight song. Have fun listening. I happened across your site while surfing through various other ballparks sites. A wonderfully nostalgic, haunting, informative and unfailingly moving tribute to the place. As you probably know, many of us in the Metro Detroit area are still grieving the loss of the park of our heredity, Tiger Stadium.

After each game my kids and I attend at Comerica Park, we conscientiously make a semi-religious one-mile pilgrimage south down I to visit her. Solemn and still, as quiet and lonely as a tomb, it still stands, a mute memorial to a better time, and greater a city, we all are too rapidly losing. I was touched by your feelings for the Met. To be honest, having been born and raised in New England, and having visited both Yankee Stadium and Fenway Park, as well as Wrigley Field, in addition to "The Corner", The Met had never impressed me as being anything more than just another of those cold, soulless, multi-purpose midth century hybrids, lacking charm, color and character.

Thanks for proving me wrong, for showing me that the heart and soul, the charm and character of a park is a function of the people who go there, the common joy and sorrow, the communal elation and heartbreak they share there, and not solely dependent on the age, or the configuration of the brick, concrete and steel shell in which they unfold.

My only hope is that someone in this area will do something half as exhaustive, and respectful, for our stadium. Again, congratulations on a job very well, excellently, done. And, as a fan of the game and its venues, my most heartfelt thanks for allowing me to visit, to experience, a place that would have been forever lost to me otherwise.

What a last hour or so I've had discovering your site and thus revisiting this special place from my youth now gone. Thanks is all I can say. There used to be ballpark.. Great stuff. One thing the site needs, though is some of the wit and wisdom and cigars and onions of Halsey Hall. Excellent stuff! This site is absolutely spectacular. I have been a Minnesota Viking fan since , when I was only 6 years old. It was the Ram game in the '69 playoffs that got me hooked for good. I was probably their biggest fan as a kid growing up in southern New Jersey.

It was heartbreaking to have never gotten the chance to see them play in person, especially at the old Met during their glory days. It would have meant so much to me as a young boy to have been able to see them at home in Bloomington. I was a bit fortunate in that when I was 22 years old in that a very nice woman that I knew in Minneapolis actually took me to the former site of the old stadium when I was visiting her back in December of Unfortunately, the stadium was completely gone and the field and parking lot were covered with snow.

At least the new mall wasn't there yet. I took a lot of pictures that day, even though the wind chill factor was minus 40 degrees. Even still, the memories that came back to me that afternoon were amazing. I am still a Viking fan to this day, although my age and the fact that the team plays indoors have certainly eroded my love for the team and its significance in my life. I really hope that the Vikings move back outdoors, and soon. But even if they do, nothing will compete with the Met and the teams that played back in the sixties and seventies when football was a sport and not a business, and when players stayed with one team their entire career.

I loved the frozen field and the long shadows and the frozen breath coming out of the players mouths, and the light poles swaying in the wind. It was really sad to see the old Met in the shape that it was in looking at your photos, but this is the only site I have ever found with such photos. Please keep this link active and perhaps other readers can even add to the photo collection. Hopefully there are others with some old Viking photos as well.

Your pics are great. I think I know where the "Hail Mary" took place in the photos you show on this site. Perhaps you could add one showing where it would be today inside the mall. Many of us fans would like to see the approximate spot in the mall.

It was one of the saddest days of my life! I was lucky to come across this site and will save it to my favorites. Simply terrific! I loved going to The Met as a kid watching the Twins and the Vikings!

I still hate the fact that they play in the Dome now. You've covered everything and then some with this site - don't ever take it down! The photos of the abandoned Met are really something. I've got a couple of seats from the Met in my basement and I cherish the memories of sunny days with my family and friends, the colored patchwork exterior, being able to see the huge light standards behind the plate for a couple of miles before the ballpark actually came into site, the old scoreboard with the "Hit Me" money tree, the frosty malts, the smells and sounds, the lively organ music, and coziness of the The Met!

Thanks for the site and the wonderful memories!!! I loved that ballpark. Twins and Viking games were always great at the Met. The old scoreboard, the big clock, and the benches in right field, will for always stay in my mind.

Standing under the left field stands, looking through the fench, almost standing next to the left fielder. Those times in my young life at the ballpark were without question, the best times of my life. Buddy Keefer, So. Paul , Minnesota. Thank you for the great memories. One of my saddest was in 84 when I took my wife to Minnesota to visit relatives. We were approaching the Met from the south and could see the light standards.

I was telling her about the stadium and the fun I had there in my few trips. When we crested a little hill and could see the Met it was a pile of rubble with the light standards still erect And the racket made by those souls who ripped out their own memories of the ball park that has been condemned was louder than any cheer issued for the Vikings yesterday. The Vikings went out losers, to the Kansas City Chiefs, failing to achieve the milestone of a 10 th victory in the only home they have ever known, a home that began to fall down around them in the game's final seconds.

And afterward a terrible rending took place, the stomping of thousands of boot heels on chairs, the cracking of wood, pounding and tearing and pulling. The Vikings had promised an increased security force for yesterday's game, but you knew there was a hole in this plan when a man in an extremely obvious gorilla suit waltzed by the enforcers and onto the field with five minutes still to play.

It was about then that seats began to disappear from their moorings in the right-field bleachers, whole sections of plank were lifted out and passed down the row. And at the final gun thousands of people stormed the field. The goal posts came down first, on both ends of the field. Set upon and devoured, components of the goal posts were then paraded around the turf as the thieves wondered what in the world to do with such bounty.

Or what to do with the iron railings that were worked on by gangs who bent them this way and that until they broke? Or what to do with toilet seats or trash barrels?

The field itself was attacked, but it is virtually impossible for even the foulest perpetrator to tear frozen sod from the earth. No one was bold enough to bring a jackhammer into the stadium. Smaller instruments of destruction included wrenches and industrial strength wire cutters.

Vikings authorities who witnessed the Met's last act were reluctant to place a dollar value on removed seats. But it became clear that what perhaps began as an act of sentiment turned into random acts of destruction. The scoreboard, for example, was scaled by a hundred or so fools for no apparent purpose other than to destroy the thing.

Scoreboard lightbulbs were popped. Lettering was ripped out and thrown to the ground. Speakers atop the scoreboard were yanked out and dropped to the ground. They endanger themselves. It did not seem possible that long-standing season ticket holders led yesterday's chase to ruin. Over the past couple of seasons, the Viking crowds have become as dull as the Vikings, and yesterday's game might have been the dullest ever played at the old ball park.

And other customers could have sold their season tickets to yesterday's game, perhaps anticipating cold weather. But Randolph did not dare venture a demographical profile of those customers who went slightly mad for about an hour after the conclusion of yesterday's game. As usual, the entertainment proceeded at its own crawling pace, with only scarce clues as to what would follow. Patrons in center field bleachers did haul down the American flag and cut loose its halyards in the fourth quarter.

And the St. Under major league rules of the time, the Giants had priority rights to a major league team in the Twin Cities, because of the location of their farm team. However, the Giants chose to follow the Brooklyn Dodgers to the west coast.

As part of the deal, the Millers' parent team then became the Red Sox. The Red Sox were certainly not planning to move anywhere. Pro Football came to the area as early as when the Steelers and Eagles played an exhibition game at the stadium in From , the Packers, Cardinals, and Cowboys all played preseason games at Metropolitan Stadium.

In the expansion Minnesota Vikings arrived at Metropolitan Stadium. Both teams stayed through until the Metrodome opened.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page