top of page

What kind of doctor umbilical hernia

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?3761579 <<<<<<






So I don't feel like it's worth having surgery now. I've had a small umbilical hernia for several years but have basically ignored it. I'm not a big believer in letting people cut on my body, so I wanted to avoid surgery at all costs.

But the hernia is really starting to bug me now, and it's gotten bigger and it looks weird. So I've got an appointment to talk to my doctor about surgery. I'm a nurse, and sometimes I have to lift patients and other heavy things. One day, after helping a patient transfer into a wheelchair, I felt something weird in my abdomen. Later, I noticed a bulge in my belly button. My doctor said it may have happened because I've gained quite a bit of weight lately.

I've decided to go ahead and have it fixed since it's kind of painful and it could be a problem with my work. Your personal feelings are just as important as the medical facts. Think about what matters most to you in this decision, and show how you feel about the following statements. My hernia is keeping me from doing daily activities or from returning to work. I want to have the hernia repaired while my insurance or worker's compensation will help cover the costs. I will be traveling to an area where health care may not be available, so I want to take care of this now.

I have no plans to travel to places where health care may not be available. Now that you've thought about the facts and your feelings, you may have a general idea of where you stand on this decision. Show which way you are leaning right now. How sure do you feel right now about your decision? Here's a record of your answers.

You can use it to talk with your doctor or loved ones about your decision. One reason for me to have surgery for my umbilical hernia is to prevent a rare but serious problem called strangulation.

I need surgery even though my hernia is small and doesn't bother me. Are you clear about which benefits and side effects matter most to you? Do you have enough support and advice from others to make a choice? Author: Healthwise Staff. Medical Review: E. This information does not replace the advice of a doctor. Healthwise, Incorporated, disclaims any warranty or liability for your use of this information.

Your use of this information means that you agree to the Terms of Use. Learn how we develop our content. To learn more about Healthwise, visit Healthwise. Healthwise, Healthwise for every health decision, and the Healthwise logo are trademarks of Healthwise, Incorporated. Updated visitor guidelines. Get the facts. Your options Have surgery now to repair your umbilical hernia, even if you don't have symptoms.

Take a "wait and see" approach to surgery because the hernia doesn't bother you much. Key points to remember Hernias don't go away on their own. Only surgery can repair a hernia. Many people are able to delay surgery for months or even years.

And some people may never need surgery for a small hernia. If the hernia is small and you don't have any symptoms, or if the symptoms don't bother you much, you and your doctor may simply continue to watch for symptoms to occur.

Many doctors recommend surgery because it prevents a rare but serious problem called strangulation. This occurs when a part of intestine or a piece of fatty tissue is trapped inside the hernia and is cut off from its blood supply. What is an umbilical hernia? Why does an umbilical hernia need to be repaired? Your doctor may recommend surgery if: Your hernia is very large. Your hernia bothers you. Your doctor will recommend surgery right away if: You have pain, a swollen belly, or other signs of a rare but major problem called strangulation or incarcerated hernia.

This can occur when the intestine gets trapped in the hernia sac and loses its blood supply. What happens in surgery for an umbilical hernia? What kinds of surgeries are used to repair umbilical hernias?

There are two types of hernia repair surgeries: Open hernia repair surgery. The hernia is repaired through a cut incision in the belly. Open surgery is safe and effective and has been done for many years. Laparoscopic hernia repair. A surgeon inserts a thin, lighted scope through a small incision in the belly. Surgical tools to repair the hernia are inserted through other small incisions in the belly.

Laparoscopic hernia surgery may have some advantages over open surgery in certain cases. Studies show that people have less pain after this type of surgery and can return to work and other activities more quickly than after open repair.

Is it safe? Will it go away. Do I have to get operated? What type of doctor do I have to see about it. I have an umbilical hernia and doc says I need an op. Is there anything I need to avoid so it does not get worse? In what way can I be suer i don't or do have a umbilical hernia without seeing a doctor? What to do if i don't know what it is it look like an umbilical hernia but it hurts and do I need to see a doctor?

Related topics Hiatal hernia. Connect with a U. Disclaimer: Content on HealthTap including answers should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and interactions on HealthTap do not create a doctor-patient relationship.

Product What We Treat. Topics Catalog. Apply for a Free Visit. For Doctors. About Us. Company Blog. Contact Us. Help Center. Is pain like a stitch, very sharp pain, normal after umbilical hernia repair surgery? Would having a circumaortic renal collar effect surgery for a small umbilical hernia repair? Doctor said I don't need surgery for a tiny umbilical hernia.

He said take a week or two off from the gym, that's it. Will I be able to work out again? Why would my doctor put me through 3 separate surgeries endsted of doing it all at once? I have an ambilical hernia, fibroids, plus a clamp on mytubes.

Had a small umbilical hernia repair no mesh done a month ago. The lump above my belly button is still kind of squishy, like it was pre-surgery. Is a hard lump after umbilical hernia surgery open repair normal?

I've had it for 5 days. Hole was size of a dime b4 surgery. Stitched closed. Related topics Umbilical hernia repair. Hernia repair. Umbilical hernia. Hiatal hernia. Connect with a U. Disclaimer: Content on HealthTap including answers should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and interactions on HealthTap do not create a doctor-patient relationship.

Product What We Treat. Topics Catalog. Apply for a Free Visit. For Doctors.


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page