top of page

What if everyone was doing it book

VISIT WEBSITE >>>>> http://gg.gg/y83ws?7748082 <<<<<<






More Details. Ellen Javernick 25 books 46 followers. She has been an elementary school teacher for more than twenty years and currently teaches kindergarten. She lives in Loveland, Colorado. Search review text. Displaying 1 - 30 of reviews. I imagine this book would be a good tool to teach children that their actions have consequences.

However, most of the actions except for the last one are viewed negatively. I think it would have been better to have a few more examples of how positive action can impact everyone. I really did not like this one. The premise here is that this kid keeps doing stuff that adults tell him he shouldn't do and the reason is always because it would suck if everyone else did it too.

Many of the examples were just nonsense. I mean isn't everyone throwing snowballs exactly how a good snowball fight works? I did not like this book partially because in each instance the boy was doing something he shouldn't the adult telling him to stop was scowling.

Some of the things he was doing weren't that bad, such as rushing onto the field after a football game to get an autograph or splashing in the pool. Even though I agree they weren't things he should do, the reason for stopping wasn't "what if everybody did that?

That's obnoxious even if no one else does it. Do you really think that if everyone ran to one side of the school bus that the bus would tip over?

I just thought that the examples were poorly chosen for my set of values and perceptions of the world. That said, there were some examples I agreed with: go to the Reading Tub to see them. We all need a reminder to step back and consider the potential cumulative impact of our actions: "What if everybody did that?

We all know this thoughtless type of person, the one who shows no consideration because it's not theirs and they assume someone else will take care of it. One earth. We all live here, and it's up to all of us to at least try to keep it nice. Let's everybody find some positive things to do, and make the right kind of impact. Randie D. Camp, M. For example, the boy races a cart at the grocery store to see how fast it can go and the store manager stops him and says, "What if everybody did that?

The book offers many more examples of how poor choices could lead to undesirable situations if everybody were to do it. The ending grabs the reader's attention because the young boy making a good choice and shows how wonderful it would be if everybody made good choices. My son thought many of the illustrations were ridiculous. Perhaps, so ridiculous that many children could miss the overall message of the book.

On the other hand, I feel the humor makes the book less preachy which is appealing to most children. Readers encounter a little boy who learns that his single actions can contribute to a larger problem. For example it shouldn't be such a big deal if he shares his popcorn with the bears at the zoo, right? But what if everyone did that?

There are many good lessons and the story ends on a positive note: what if I just give Mommy one hug? Well, everyone should do that! The problem with this book is the illustrations. They are very well done technically. But the characterizations of the authority figures is extremely disappointing. Every person in an authority position is drawn with a sour and mean face when admonishing the child. These lessons can be taught effectively without making it a horrible experience.

I don't ever want to be or perceived to be the librarian who looks that horrible when she's taking control of a class pg. I think the author of this book has been to my storytime, because in the image of what would happen if everyone talked in storytime I could see myself.

I wish the author had cut out half of the examples and used something else to move the story forward. I also thought that several of the "what if everyone did this" examples looked like a lot of fun--like blowing straws and throwing snowballs, but the tone of the book made it seem not fun.

A little boy is questioned constantly about his actions with the phrase: "What if everybody did that?

Have listeners chime in in saying the phrase "what if everybody did that? I really like the idea of this book, especially having just visit the New England area where litter is everywhere! However, some of the ideas of things we shouldn't do seem a little strict. For example, a teacher forbids throwing a snowball. That makes sense because snowball fights at school probably aren't going to happen without someone getting hurt. However, the line simply reads "What if everybody did that?

Hopefully it won't give kids the impression that a snowball fight is never okay. On the next spread a waitress forbids blowing a straw wrapper off a straw. Who hasn't done that? Is it really so bad to be mentioned in a book? Is it really reasonable to worry about everybody suddenly deciding to blow their straw wrappers around the room into each other's food?

Not really. I'm hoping parents reading this with their children will explain that sometimes it is ok to be silly, as long as you aren't bothering those around you. My favorite spread, as a librarian, has to be the one of storytime. Oh well. It sounded like fun at the time. Okay so let me just say, that I completely messed up when buying this book. I actually meant to buy the first of the series but it wasnt til midway through the book i realized that this couldnt have been the first one.

So i'll try to be objective since I havent read the whole series. I was intrigued to read this best it was a 'create-your-own' novel book. But as I continued to read the story line seemed a bit lacking. Perhaps it was because of the way I choose to complete the story. But it just seemed kind of superficial. Maybe its just that my experience with High School wasnt defined by social groups that I really couldnt get into any of the characters. Oh well I'm probably way to old for this book anyway.

But still I believe the story they try to give you could have been a lot stronger. I expected a little more from this. I love the concept and the cover I have a real weakness for a flashy cover : Anyhow, I didn't think the transitions were especially good between the "what would you do? But I still really like this idea, and I think a lot of girls would like this as light reading. Also not apparent is that this is a series about a particular highschool and has the same recurring characters and protagonist.

I thought it would be written as if you, the reader, were the protagonist, but it's this Haley chick. Most Recent. Google Apps. See All Formats. All Google Apps. All Microsoft. Microsoft PowerPoint. Microsoft Word. Microsoft Excel. Microsoft Publisher. All Interactive Whiteboards. Internet Activities e. Boom Cards. All Formats. Grades PreK. Other Not Grade Specific. Higher Education.

Adult Education. English Language Arts. All 'English Language Arts'. Balanced Literacy. Close Reading. Creative Writing. Other ELA. Reading Strategies. Short Stories. Back to School.

Earth Day. All 'Math'. All 'Science'. Social Studies - History. All 'Social Studies - History'. All 'Specialty'. Character Education. Classroom Community. Classroom Management. Computer Science - Technology. Critical Thinking. Life Skills. Problem Solving. School Counseling. Special Education. Speech Therapy. For All Subject Areas. Shows resources that can work for all subject areas. Prices Free. On Sale. Resource Types Independent Work Packet. Lesson Plans Individual.

Math Centers. Literacy Center Ideas. See All Resource Types. Activboard Activities. Bulletin Board Ideas. Cooperative Learning. Fun Stuff. Graphic Organizers. Homeschool Curricula. Independent Work Packet. Interactive Notebooks. Lesson Plans Bundled. Literature Circles.


Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page